May 2018 President's Message

Congratulations to our 2018 “Making a Difference” Award recipients:  Kathy Meehan, Mayor, City of Melbourne and Marilyn Scott, Professor, Computer Science, Florida Institute of Technology School of Engineering.  Thank you to the members and guests who attended and supported the Celebrating Women event in recognition of Women’s History Month!

Special thanks to Sheryl Glore and Sue Tyson-Parker for accompanying me to the ABWA Regional Conference April 12–14 in Alexandria, VA!  We had the opportunity to connect with ABWA members throughout our region, and sharpen our leadership skills at the various seminars and workshops. 

Mark your calendar for the 2018 ABWA National Women’s Leadership Conference, October 10—13 in Augusta, GA!  Please consider joining me on a road trip to attend the conference for another excellent opportunity to connect with amazing women throughout our country, and learn from their experiences!

As the ABWA fiscal year comes to a close, we will welcome two new board members.  Sharon DuBois and Christina Glore will join the leadership team as Secretary and Treasurer, respectively, and take office effective August 1, 2018. Thank you to our 2017/2018 Secretary, Angela Johnson and Treasurer, Catherine Alexander for your friendship, dedication and service to our chapter this past fiscal year!.

I am looking forward to the May 22 meeting, a very special evening when we welcome Krista Rogers, the 2017-2018 recipient of the American Business Women’s Association’s $10,000 National President’s Scholarship as our guest speaker.  We will also announce the recipient of our 2018 Impact Scholarship!  See you then!

~ Cindy Schmitt


Latest Photos