November 2019 President's Message

Fall is here…well only sort of since we live in Florida! October started off with a bang as nine of our members attended the ABWA National Women’s Leadership Conference held in Kansas City, Missouri.   Our chapter was honored with multiple recognitions this year!  Our member, Cindy Schmitt was chosen as one of the Top Ten Business Women of ABWA and was recognized with the other Top Ten Women during the conference.  In addition, our chapter was presented with the Level I Best Practices Award in League Management, which is the highest honor given to those leagues that work throughout the year to meet the stringent criteria. Oceanside Charter Chapter was also presented with a new award, appropriately named the “Brilliance Unleashed” award, which was given to only 11 chapters throughout the nation that demonstrated exceptional efforts in their dedication to complete all of the elements of Best Practices.  It was an honor to be in attendance to celebrate the 70th anniversary of ABWA and it is an honor to be part of such an outstanding chapter!

As a member of ABWA it is important to remember that there are so many additional benefits outside of attending the monthly dinner meetings.   Attending the Regional and National conferences provide the opportunity to meet professional women from all over the nation.  In addition, conference attendees have exposure to nationally recognized speakers and can participate in professional development through educational seminars.   Members also can also take advantage of the resources located online in Community Connections, such as the professional development courses located in the Apex Campus.  Many of these courses are offered free of charge and other courses are offered at a deeply discounted price. 

There are many exciting events for our chapter coming up in the next few months!  We will celebrate the holidays in December with our Holiday Dinner on December 3rd when featured speaker, Florida Institute of Technology Professor, Dr. Gordon Patterson will present “Look Who’s Coming to Dinner!”  At our January meeting, our guest speaker, Karen Gathercole, will present "Keeping the Flame Alive:  How to Motivate Teams as a Project Manager When the Gas Has Run Out."  Karen is the Senior Director of Human Resources at Satcom Direct, Inc.

I’m so proud of our Chapter and what it has accomplished during this past year, and I know our league is limitless in where we can go!

 ~ Maria Sulick


Latest Photos